It’s a Jungle Out There

2 Aug

My absolute, all-time favorite summer pastime is mowing my lawn, but you’d never guess it by looking out into my yard right now. It’s an embarrassing, over-grown tangle of grass that’s starting to resemble the Amazon rainforest. Every morning, as soon as I get up, I stand on the deck with a cup of coffee in hand, and look out upon the jungle below and say, “Today is the day, my friend… Today is the day,” and I head off to work with the excited anticipation of a child on Christmas Eve.
That anticipation quickly fades. By the time I get off work it’s 110 in the shade and the heat index is hovering somewhere around the second level of Hell. It takes everything I have just to walk from the car to the house without collapsing from heat exhaustion, and I’m shoving my kids out of my way as I dive headfirst into the deep freeze to suck down Popsicles six at a time, the backyard jungle nothing more than a distant, nagging memory in the back of my mind. 
I don’t handle heat well—especially the steamy, drippy, oppressively-humid Nebraska kind of heat. My husband, on the other hand, can’t handle the cold. It’s already an unbearably-muggy 82 degrees at seven in the morning, I’m mopping sweat off my brow, panting along with the dogs, and he’s walking around the house, teeth chattering, “Have you seen my sweatshirt?” Why, yes, dear, I have. I sold them all to buy this block of ice I’m sitting on.
 
I will get out and mow my lawn one of these days—but probably not today. When I checked the forecasted highs for the day, the weather map burst into flames. That’s never a good sign. So I think I’ll wait. This is Nebraska, after all. “If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes and it’ll change.” It’ll probably snow on Saturday.
One Response to “It’s a Jungle Out There”

  1. thegmstevens August 4, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Oh, I so agree with you. I mowed my hay a couple of days ago, and I just vacuumed up all of it, that my dogs wore into the house, a few minutes ago. Grrr to Nebraska summer.

Leave a Reply

