Aye yai yai…

4 Nov
Well, I did it again. 
It was 9:04 in the morning, and my tummy was rumbling, so I wandered into the kitchen to grab a bowl of cereal. There were four boxes in the pantry to choose from, but, as usual, my kids had left nothing but crumbs in the bottom of each of them. I wasn’t in the mood for a bowl of RiceKrispiesLuckyCharmsCaptainCrunchWheaties,so I turned to the fridge to look for some eggs. Not only did I find some, but,wonder upon wonder, they were still in date. Yes!I threw a pan on the stove, added a pat of butter, cranked the stove on to medium,and headed back to the computer to edit a paragraph or two of a WIP while the pan warmed and the butter melted.
Seven pages and twenty-two minutes later, I wondered to myself, “What’s that smell?” 
Long story short, it’s 43 degrees outside and I have every window in my house open, trying to clear out the hazy fog of Oh, crap! I forgot!
With my hair reeking of scorched butter, and my tummy still rumbling, I decided to type this list of things I tend to overlook when I get into a writing groove. My thought behind this is, “If you recite it, you will remember it.”At least I think that was the theory behind my first-grade punishment of writing twenty times, “I will not flick Andy’s hair with my pencil.” For the record, I don’t see what the big deal was anyway. It’s not like I hit him.
But I digress. Onto the list…
1.  I have two children. They need food, water, hugs, kisses, showers, clean clothes, and help  with their homework. They also need fresh air, sunshine, birthday and Christmas presents, and to see something besides the back of their mother’s head as her fingers dance across the keyboard. Introduce my children to the wonders of the real-life world! 
2.  I also have a husband. He also needs all of the above, except help with his homework. Additionally,he would appreciate more intense conversation than the occasional, distracted, grunt of “Uh-huh.”  Love and appreciate my man! 
3.  Pajamas are not appropriate attire at two-o’clock in the afternoon—no matter how cold it is outside. Get dressed! 
4.  God made soap fora reason. Use it at least once a day. Take a shower!
5.  God also invented vacuum cleaners and lemon-scented Pledge. Clean the house!
6.  While God may also have invented smoke detectors, His intention behind them was not so one could abandon the fried chicken in the pan to write another chapter. Don’t burn the house down while cooking!
The list is grossly-incomplete, but it’s a start. Once I get these things down pat, I’ll work on other forgotten parts of my life—like grocery shopping and hanging out with friends…if I have any left…wait a minute…do I? Uh…
Oh, dear!
2 Responses to “Aye yai yai…”

  1. Karen Pokras Toz November 4, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    lol – – Sounds familiar – all of it!!! I did that recently too except I was boiling eggs… they exploded everywhere & the pot was charred. I've also set toast on fire in the toaster oven by setting the time to 20 minutes instead of 2 minutes. I am no longer allowed to open my laptop until all breakfast cooking is complete!!

  2. Donna Sturgeon November 4, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Good to know I'm not the only one!! I was beginning to think there was something wrong with my brain. LOL

Leave a Reply

