My Little Scrooge

2 Dec

Josh, back in the good ole days when he had Christmas Spirit

The other day, during the long drive home from the orthodontist, I asked my twelve-year-old son, Josh, if he had any homework. He grunted out a yes, I asked him what subject, and he grumbled, “Band.”

“Ah…” I replied.

That grumbling wasn’t anything new. I’ve heard it many times before. Every Monday, the band instructor assigns a three-paragraph essay on a random topic relating to music, and every week both of my boys act as though their world has come to an end because they have to write it.

I asked him what the essay of the week was on. It had seemed an innocent question at the time, but the twenty-mile rant it unleashed proved otherwise. The volume of his voice, and the sheer ridiculousness of his argument, increased with every mile that passed. I’ll spare you the ugly details. Basically, it all boiled down to this: My son hates Christmas carols.

“Insanity!” I say.

I blame genetics. He gets it from his father. His older brother also inherited this unfathomable trait. Me? I adore Christmas carols. Love, love, love, love, love them! I wouldn’t go as far as to say I listen to them year round, but between Thanksgiving and New Year’s they get top billing on my playlist. I actively seek them out on the radio in the car. I crank them up while I’m baking cookies or decorating the tree, or scrubbing the toilets. They even make shopping in a mall somewhat-tolerable. Quite simply, they warm my heart.

If I were assigned the same essay as my son, I would probably go on a little rant of my own. Selecting just one to write three paragraphs about would be like asking me to pick just one of my kids to brag about. Impossible! Instead, I give you my Top 12 Songs for 12 Days of Christmas, in no particular order:

“Baby, It’s Cold Outside.” Dean Martin

“White Christmas” Dean Martin

“The Christmas Song” Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole

“Little Drummer Boy” Drumline version

“O Holy Night” Celtic Woman

“O Come All Ye Faithful” Art Garfunkel

“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” Judy Garland

“Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree” Brenda Lee

“A Holly Jolly Christmas” Burl Ives

“It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” Andy Williams

“We Need a Little Christmas” Johnny Mathis

“Carol of the Bells” Mannheim Steamroller

Oh, and thanks to Weird Al Yankovic, my son did finally find a Christmas song he likes.

Here’s his.

2 Responses to “My Little Scrooge”

  1. bob December 2, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Bah….Humbug.

    • Donna December 2, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      Papa Scrooge.

Leave a Reply

