Snow Day!

3 Dec

It came a little later than usual, but we finally have our first snowfall of the season. Four to six inches are in the forecast, making it the perfect day to decorate the Christmas tree and bake that first batch of cookies. Yum!

Every year I try to mix it up a bit and try something new, but there are two cookies that are Sturgeon family standards at Christmastime. One is my mom’s “secret” cut-out recipe that I have been making since I was a little girl, and the other is Amish Sugar Cookies.

I originally got this recipe from my mother-in-law, but I adapted it slightly because I like a little spice to go with the sweet in my cookies. They are buttery-crisp and highly addictive in the way they seem to melt in your mouth. They are also very simple to make, making them the perfect choice for those who have little helpers in the kitchen, as I often do. Ever since my son has been old enough to stand on a chair, he has been the official Amish Cookie “Squisher” of the family.

Amish Sugar Cookies

1 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

4-1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

1 tsp cream of tartar

Colored Sugar

Cream butter, sugars and oil. Mix in eggs and vanilla. Combine flour, soda, salt, cinnamon and cream of tartar. Gradually add to creamed mixture. Shape into 1 inch balls. Place on cookie sheets and flatten with the bottom of a glass dipped in colored sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Makes 8 dozen cookies.

2 Responses to “Snow Day!”

  1. susartandfood December 3, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    How beautiful the picture is. Sometimes I do miss the snow. Cookies look yummy.

  2. Donna December 3, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    The first snow is always my favorite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

