Fashionably Late

9 Dec

We’re headed to the (office) Holiday Party this week on Story Dam!!

Unfortunately, Dan and Stacy had a hard time getting there.

*****

Fashionably Late

Stacy flew out of the bathroom on a steamy cloud, and ran straight for the closet. As she whipped one hanger after another across the rod in a flurried panic, her eyes flicked over to the clock on the nightstand, and then to Dan, who had just finished tying his shoes.

“I thought I told you to get dressed?” she snapped as she ripped something black off a hanger.

Dan looked down at his fully-clothed body in confusion. “I’m dressed.”

“I meant get dressed for the Christmas party, kochanie,” she said with an irritated sigh as she hurried over to the dresser.

Dan looked at his clothes again, even more confused. “I am dressed for the party, Stace.”

“You’re not wearing that.”

“Why not?” he asked as he checked himself out in the mirror. He puffed out his chest and smoothed his hands down the stupid, button-up shirt he’d put on just for her. Hell, he’d even tucked it into his khakis. “I look damn good.”

“You don’t match.” Stacy rifled through the dresser drawer and pulled out a handful of satin and lace.

“How can I not match? I’m wearing brown. Brown matches everything.”

“You’re wearing head-to-toe brown, Dan. You look like a six-foot tall turd.”

“The UPS man wears head-to-toe brown, and you think he’s hot.”

“You start delivering me expensive things wrapped in brown-paper packages, and I’ll think you’re hot poop, too,” Stacy said with a wink as she headed for the bathroom. “Until then, change your clothes.”

He grabbed her arm as she passed by, pulling her in close. His hand slipped into her robe, caressing her silky, perfumed skin as he rumbled in a seductive voice, “Oh, I got a package I could deliver to you.”

She rolled her eyes as she batted his hand away. “Just put on the shirt I bought you.”

“But it itches,” he complained as he let her go.

She ignored his whining. “Go start the truck and load up the cookie platters. I’ll be ready to go five minutes.”

“Five minutes, huh?” Dan gave her a skeptical once-over. She was dressed in a ratty robe with her hair wrapped in a towel, her face scrubbed clean and make-up free. “Maybe I better wait on starting the truck. I’ve only got a half a tank of gas.”

“Five minutes.” She slammed the door in his face. Before he could take a full step toward the hall, she hollered through the cherry wood, “And change your shirt!”

“Damn woman,” Dan grumbled, but he did as he was told, and then headed downstairs to do the rest of her bidding.

When he was done, he grabbed a beer from the fridge, figuring he had time. Hell, knowing her, he could catch the last half of the game. As he turned to do just that, his eyes landed on a very different Stacy than the one he had left upstairs exactly five minutes earlier. The ratty robe was long gone, replaced by a little, black dress that stole his breath away.

“Oh, Stace…”

“Well, how do I look?” She struck a gorgeous pose in the doorway, causing his blood to ignite and the bottle to slip from his hand. “I got my Spanx on tonight.”

“Sounds kinky.”

“Unfortunately, they’re not,” she said with a killer smile as he pulled her into his arms.

“Oh, look,” Dan said, and pointed up. “Mistletoe.”

Her gullible eyes followed his finger. “There’s no mistle—”

He cut her off with a kiss that started in the kitchen and ended with them being incredibly late for the party.

 

 

10 Responses to “Fashionably Late”

  1. Renee McKinley (@2old2tap) December 9, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    There are so many lines I just love here! Starting with the steamy bathroom cloud and ending with being ‘incredibly late’.
    I can’t find a thing out of place. Well written!

    • Donna December 9, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      Thank you, Renee! 🙂

  2. justlyd December 9, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Love this, I think it’s funy, sexy and sweet. It reads really smooth and I love this couple alltogether. Very cool.

    • Donna December 10, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you! 🙂

  3. Carrie December 9, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    It’s such a perfect scene between an old married couple. They are comfortable with each other but she wants him to be just a bit “more” and he just wants to get in her Spanx LOL

    I really enjoyed the dialogue. It flowed so well

    • Donna December 10, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      Thanks Carrie!

  4. Brandon December 10, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Ooooh la la! LOL!

    Great job as usual. Very well done. Love the banter. You clearly have no issues with dialogue. I don’t think I have anything for you this week. It sounds too real and is visually appealing. Very nice!

    You said this is a WIP?

    • Donna December 10, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks Brandon. This particular scene I wrote just for the assignment, but the characters are in my dreaded WIP. They are behaving quite nicely in it, it’s the rest of the cast that are causing my ulcers and sleepless nights. LOL

  5. Brandi December 11, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I loved this! It was very easy to ‘hear’,’see’, and ‘feel’ it all happening. The only thing I have to say about it is that I want to read more!!

    • Donna December 12, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Thanks Brandi! Dan and Stacy are my favorite characters to write, so you will probably be seeing quite a bit of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

