Dear Santa,

16 Dec

This week on Story Dam we had our choice of prompts. One was a really cool version of Mad Libs called Dam Libs, the other was to write a letter for Santa. My boys and I had a blast playing the Dam Libs, but after staring at that crazy paragraph for four days, the only thing I came up with was the realization that if I didn’t want to miss the deadline, I’d better stick with the letter to Santa!

The following letter is from Olivia Hanson, a character in one of my dusty little WIP’s. She’s all grown up in the story, but I always wondered what she had been like as a child. I looked through some old boxes in her trailer, and this is what I found.

***

8 Responses to “Dear Santa,”

  1. Brandon December 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Too funny! I knew it was going to be something like that. Thanks for the chuckle!

    • Donna December 16, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      You’re welcome. πŸ˜€

  2. areelcoolsummer December 16, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Boy, for someone who didn’t want to write the letter, she sure had a lot to say! So funny!

    • Donna December 16, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      LOL Olivia tends to get a little long-winded when she’s on a rant. πŸ™‚

  3. Brandi December 16, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Olivia is definitely my kind of gal…. I don’t like big dogs either, for the same reason πŸ˜‰

    Love this!!! I know I’d enjoy getting to know the grown up Olivia if she was this spunky in 6th grade!!

    • Donna December 16, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      She’s definitely still spunky, only now with a stronger bite of bitter disillusionment. LOL I’m debating unveiling her and her friends for the character link-up, but I haven’t decided yet. Might stick with my trusty Allman Falls peeps. decisions, decisions.

  4. Nick Rolynd December 16, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Ha ha! Wow, what a mouth on that one! Awesome take on the prompt!

    • Donna December 16, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      Thanks, Nick! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

