Smile #6 ~ Pumpkin Gingerbread Cupcakes

6 Jan

Josh signed me up to bake a cake for a fundraiser at the high school, and the only disposable, aluminum pans with lids that I could find at the grocery store were lasagna-size, smaller and shallower than a standard 9×13. I was disappointed for a heartbeat of a moment, thinking I would have to drive around all night looking for the right size pan. But then I realized a smaller pan meant a smaller cake. Smaller cake meant extra batter, And extra batter meant… cupcakes! I ended up with eighteen paper-lined, little cuties. Happy, happy day!

I have no idea where, or who, I originally got this recipe from. Probably from my mother-in-law. (Most of my good ones come from her.) It’s one of the hundreds I have chicken-scratched on scrap paper and stuffed into my M&M’s folder of family-favorites.

Pumpkin Gingerbread Cake

3 c sugar

1 c oil

4 eggs

2/3 c wwater

15 oz canned pumpkin

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp each cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and ground cloves

3-1/2 c all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1-1/2 tsp salt

Beat sugar, oil and eggs. Add water. Mix well. Beat in pumpkin and spices. Combine flour, soda, powder and salt. Stir into pumpkin mixture. Pour into greased 9×13 pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Cool and frost with cream cheese frosting.

(Note: I baked the cupcakes for about 16-18 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake came out clean.)

Leave a Reply

